I Guess Creativity In Music Videos Is Still Alive

Let me start of this post by saying I was never really into Taylor Swift’s music like that, but some of her songs are starting to grow on me like “Blank Space”, “Bad Blood”, “Shake It Off”. Her latest song “Bad Blood” is very catchy with a nice hook and a great production by Max Martin and Shellback. The video for the song is GREAT. Every part of the video was enticing and alluring, with great guest appearances by Kendrick Lamar (who is on the song) Jessica Alba, Zendaya Coleman, Ellie Goulding, Lily Aldridge, Lena Dunham, Selena Gomez, and many more. Throughout the video, it resembled scenes from the movies “Sin City”, “Sucker Punch” and “Kick Ass”. Action packed to the max. It was good to see Taylor get into her fighting acting skills and show a side of herself to the public that we are not used to seeing from her. The video is 4 minutes and 5 seconds long. From beginning to end your eyes will be glued to the video (it was very hard for me to take my eyes away. Lol). For a while I was saying music videos was lacking creativity and interest for a long time.

When I watch music videos, I either see rappers in the club with strippers ALL THE TIME, the typical male or female chasing their love interest around, or females just constantly shaking their ass throughout the whole video. Don’t get me wrong, you had videos like that in the 90’s and early 2000’s also, but now, it just feels like all that is being shown on t.v. I appreciate music videos like Michael Jackson’s “Smooth Criminal”, The Verve’s “Bittersweet Symphony”, Xzibit’s “What U See Is Wat U Get”, Lauryn Hill’s “Doo-Wop”, Ice Cube’s “Today Was A Good Day”, Busta Rhymes “Put Your Hands”, Missy Elliott’s ” I Can’t Stand The Rain”, Madonna’s “Frozen”. I remember when director Hype Williams would have his signature look to all his videos and he would stand out from the other directors because of his unique style. I can go on and on about the way music videos use to be and how creative they were, but I don’t want to make this post too long. Lol.

But watching the “Bad Blood” video, I realize there are still creative minds out there thanks to director Joseph Kahn, Taylor Swift and everyone else who participated in the making of the video. And it also doesn’t hurt that “Bad Blood’ broke the record for most views on the Vevo website for most views in a day. Ranking in a 20.1 million views. Beating Nicki Minaj’s “Anaconda” video which had 19.6 in a day. All I’m saying is that Taylor Swift’s new video is worth watching. Check it out for yourself at the bottom and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

